DER Documentary

Diary of a Maasai Village PART 5: Nine Cows and an Ox

launch preview watch a preview

From the Diary of a Maasai Village series
By Melissa Llelewyn-Davies
color, 50 min, 1985

Non-profit, K-12, and Individual pricing also available
See pricing information and conditions

This final segment of the Diary depicts the ceremony known as the "ox of ilbaa," from which Miisia emerges, acknowledged as a man.

About the Diary of a Maasai Village series
This series of five films by Melissa Llelewyn-Davies looks at daily life among the Maasai. The films are presented as a diary of a 7-week visit to a single village. The structure is episodic and the content dependent on various events or stories, some of which are developed through more than one film. The tapes can be used independently or together, to give an in-depth sense of Maasai life.

other films from the Diary of a Maasai Village series:
Part 1: The Prophet's Village
Part 2: Two Ways of Justice
Part 3: Two Mothers
Part 4: Two Journeys

Catalog of New Films DER new films catalog cover
Join Our Mailing List
Suport DER
Supported By Massachusetts Cultural Council National Endowment for the Humanities National Endowment for the Arts