Staff & Board


Alice Apley

Executive Director

Frank Aveni
Director of Media & Design

Seth Kurke
Collections and Outreach Program Manager

Elías Mendoza Vivas
Video Specialist

Leandra Sharron
Administrator & Office Manager

To get in touch with DER staff, visit our contact page

Board of Directors

Ilisa Barbash

Curator of Visual Anthropology, Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology

Sue Cabezas
President, DER Board of Directors
Executive Vice-President, Applewood Books

Peter Dow
Co-Founder, First Hand Learning, Inc.
Former Director of Education, Buffalo Museum of Science

Juliana Field
Non-profit Consultant

Karma Foley
Archivist, Smithsonian Channel

Jayasinhji Jhala
Associate Professor of Anthropology, Temple University

Mary Anne Saul
Secretary, DER Board of Directors
Retired Social Studies Teacher, North Reading High School


Patsy Asch

Glorianna Davenport
Steven Feld
Faye Ginsburg
Lance Pierce